Why I Hate Rhythm Changes: Looking Deeper than the Form

Bob Hartig and I have gone back and forth in a “point counter point” type of discussion on our opinions on the venerable 32-bar form known “Rhythm Changes.” (Bob’s original post here.  My response here.) Bob then responded with “Why I STILL Love Playing Rhythm Changes” which left the door open for me to even it up with one more response which you can find here.
A thoroughly enjoyable discussion–many thanks to Bob for the invitation to guest on his blog!

About FraKathustra

http://www.kurtellenberger.com

One Response to “Why I Hate Rhythm Changes: Looking Deeper than the Form”

  1. Kurt, big thanks for sharing your perspectives in such a frank, thought-provoking, and well-written manner. You made for a meaningful and quality discussion which, in my opinion, opened up an issue broader than mere chord changes. Well done–and again, thank you!

Leave a comment